THE FUTURE IS FEMALE

 

 

” I’m here, I’m doing it for me”- Erika Saladin

When it comes to the field of S.T.E.M ( Science, technology, engineering, and math) all I have ever heard was ” why so few?” When people speak of few, they mean women. There are countless data that highlights the social barriers for women within the field of STEM. This is especially said to be the case within the science and engineering departments throughout colleges and universities.

So, I set out on a mission. I gathered around a couple of women I know to question them on their personal feelings of being a woman within their respected STEM fields.  A lot of the findings out there can allude to women feeling defeated due to a number of obstacles they may face.  However, to much of my liking, this was not the case at all.

I interviewed 7 women. They are all of various backgrounds and some are involved in the same field.Each woman gave me a deep insight into their fields and the struggles they face within them generally. When I asked them whether they faced any struggles by being a woman in STEM, they all had varying answers and concerns.

For Biochemistry major Rulaiha and Computer Science major Ewurabena sometimes gender played a role in how they were treated in their fields, but most of their struggles related to other factors relating to their identity. Ewurabena said, “I am a woman, a woman of color,  and an international student. I come from a country where stereotypes are that I live in trees. So, I feel that some people question my ability. They can sometimes say, ” oh, what does she know?” Rulaiha notes that she can count the woman of color in her field on her hand. However, most of her struggles within her field comes from her background. Rulaiha is a first-generation student and says that in these fields a lot of your access can be who you know. Because of her being a first-generation student, her parents do not know many people within her field that she is able to shadow to gain hands-on experience. She further sheds light on the privilege within these fields that do not cater to people of lower socioeconomic classes. She uses graduate school applications to support this point. She says how so many people within her field are applying to numerous graduate schools despite how expensive the applications can be. She says that this is an obstacle in her way that may not be there for those who are more privileged.

Micki and Erika, both children of immigrants, note this privilege as well. They point out that most of their networking has been their own. For Erika, a lot of her struggles within STEM are internal. Since Spanish is her first language, she can sometimes struggle with words and concepts she is taught in class. However, Erika who learned to speak English at 13-year-olds proclaims, ” If I can learn another language, I can learn this too!” She talked a lot about staying within this field, obviously for her own happiness, but more so for her family. She watched how hard her mom and dad have worked to give her a good life and wants to be able to provide for them in the future.

Micki admits that she has had a few moments where she has second-guessed herself in class based on her gender but admits that, ” it’s not always men. It’s hard not to let those strong, overpowering people anywhere in life make you feel like you don’t know what you’re talking about.”

For psych majors Emma and Tran they both discussed how the gender divide is flipped in their fields. Specifically, because their field is predominantly filled with women. They both think that more men need to join the psychology field actually. Most of their struggles within their field are not gender-based but are instead stigma’s around the field of psychology itself. Two of the problems are 1) debate over whether it is a hard science. For those second-guessing Tran is here to proclaim, ” It is a real science.” The second struggle is having fewer men involved in it specifically because it is seen as a helping profession, which most women are encouraged to join.

Biology and Pre-med major Katie speaks to the same problem. She says, “There are only 2 boys in my genetics class. If anything in that class it is flipped. I know my mom encountered a difference. Women were encouraged to be nurses rather than doctors. But she has fought those challenges. It has changed a lot although I am aware of the stereotypes. I have never been personally held back or affected by it.”

Even with varied struggles and problems within their field, there are two things they all agreed on. The first thing is how diverse the research in their fields need to be. Emma notes that all perspectives within STEM research matters from socioeconomic background, race, gender, and more and need to be apart of future research.  Erika declares, “The more diverse brains there are out there, the better research will be produced.”

The second thing they all agreed on was that despite there being a  social stigma against woman within STEM fields, none of them felt limited or scared to be in their fields.  Emma notes, ” we are just as capable.” Tran says, ” I love it and I know I’m good at so I’m never scared to be a woman within it.”  Biology major Katie has the same attitude. Katie says, “I was never scared. It is intimidating and will be a challenge but I am not scared of that challenge.  Ewurabena’s attitude is, ” you gotta risk it to get the biscuit!”

As different as all of these young women are, they are all quite similar. They all possess one of my favorite qualities: Grit. They are all determined to accomplish their goals within their respected STEM fields despite the obstacles they may or are already facing. They are doing it for themselves. They are self-motivated and resilient. They are what the future of STEM looks like. Tell the world to get ready because these ladies and I’m sure even more young ladies are taking over within the field of STEM soon!

As Micki proclaimed at the end of her interview, ” The future is female!”

Peace.

Image result for women in stem

 

 

 

9 thoughts on “THE FUTURE IS FEMALE

  1. This is such a great topic! I really like the whole idea of your blog, uncovering hidden gems on campus. The topic of women in STEM is super relevant and I love the highlighted quotes you pulled! You did a great job integrating lots of interviews and making them a cohesive conversation. I am excited to see whether you will continue interviewing groups of people or have some posts that focus on one person’s story.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hey, thanks so much for taking the time to read my blog. I’m glad you liked it. I am definitely interested in doing individual interviews in the future. Please come back to read more of my blogs and let me know what else you think.

      Like

  2. I thought this post was extremely interesting. I think it was great that you interviewed women going into STEM fields as opposed to solely using online research. This made your post feel very relatable and genuine. It also helped show that these issues are not just found online or in isolated cases, they are found in almost everyone’s lives. I also like the style you chose for your post with the white text on a black background. This made it very easy to read and almost made the text seem clearer.

    Like

    1. Thank you so much!I’m glad that it is relatable. That is my hope for this blog. It very much is people based. I want to offer different perspectives and help us all connect in different ways.

      Like

  3. Briona, this is your friend Pete. I enjoyed reading both of your blogs and look forward to reading your upcoming ones. Keep up the good writing!

    Like

  4. Yes! This is such a relevant topic, and it’s engrained in so many women and men early on that STEM fields are not “feminine” career paths. But women representation is so important! Great article, great quotes, and great interviewees.

    Like

Leave a comment